Moe Nirenstein award

Posted on

Morris “Moe” Nirenstein was a dedicated teacher and audio-visual director for 30 years in the Colchester and Deep River Public School Systems. He was a graduate of Trinity College, held a law degree from Boston University, earned a Masters Degree in Education from Eastern Connecticut State University, and a 6th year diploma from UConn.

Moe gave many, many years of dedication to the Connecticut Education Association (C.E.A.), serving as its president from 1972-1973. He was chairman of the C.E.A. Legislative Committee for a number of years, and helped to found the C.E.A. Political Action Committee. As vice president of the Association of Retired Teachers of Connecticut (A.R.T.C.) he was its legislative chairman and chief lobbyist at the state capitol. He was elected to the presidency of A.R.T.C. in 1994. In addition, he was elected vice chairperson of the State Teachers Retirement Board. He was a member of the Colchester Democratic Town Committee for over 20 years, as well as its secretary, and was a moderator at many town meetings. He was chairman of the Commission on Aging, and served as the local A.A.R.P. Legislative Chairman. Moe attended several state, congregational and senatorial conventions as a delegate from Colchester.

In appreciation of his years of service, an award was created by ARTC in his name to honor a person who has worked tirelessly to benefit the retired teachers of CT.


Past Winners

2017- Walter Drozeck

2016- John Kane and Michael Norman

2015- Carol Taylor

2014- Sandra Bove and Cathy D’Agostino

2013- Patricia McDonnell